In recent years, people have become more conscious about their diet and food they are eating. They don’t want to go wrong with it so that something can harm their health and health of their loved ones. This is the reason they have become pickier when it comes to choosing food ingredients and foods. They have started spending time in looking for more healthy options. These days people are more focused on gluten free food and this is why a new debate has started about-Is quinoa gluten free?
Everyone is curious to know more about quinoa and the answer of this crucial question. Here are some intricate details about this ingredient and is it safe or not. Read on and find out more about it.
What is it?
Quinoa is not a grain. It is a pseudocereal seed that many people use as the alternative for gluten. Quinoa is one of the used staple crops found in South America. It is, mainly harvested in the Andes. Quinoa contains many minerals along with B- vitamins and also has favorable protein content.
With the increasing demand of gluten-free diet, the interest of people in it has increased enormously. At the same time, it is being publicized as one of the healthy and safe alternatives for gluten and increased people curiosity for finding the answer of-Is quinoa gluten free?
The most common question that comes to people’s mind when they hear the term quinoa-Is quinoa gluten free or not? Based on the definition of gluten created for individuals with celiac diseases technically speaking it is gluten free. However, it does have gluten like storage proteins that can be found in other cereals such as barley, wheat, and rye. If you are looking for a healthy option, it can be considered as one of the best options.